Saturday, November 13, 2010

Bhutan 7th position in Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Division 8

In the seventh/eighth play-off, Bhutan recorded a last-ball two wickets victory over The Bahamas. After a disappointing tournament with both bat and ball, Jigme Singye and Manoj Adhikari came to the party for the Asian side and helped them secure a positive end to a disappointing tournament.

Bhutan Team photo with coach Baba Sourjah

Singye claimed 5-23 in 6.3 overs while team-mate Tandin Wangchuk ripped through the Bahamian top order, dismissing Greg Taylor and Narenda Ebanayake early on and then later removing opening batsman Mark Taylor too leaving Singye to clear up the lower order.

When the time came to knock off the runs, Adhikari's 58 was the cornerstone of Bhutan's innings, but it came down to Phuntsho Wangdi to score the winning runs off the final ball diving over the line and securing Bhutan its first and only victory of the tournament.

Jubilant Bhutanese Players celebrate win over Bahamas

Source - ICC, Photo courtesy of ICC


Bhutan out of Pepsi ICC WCL Div. 8 after losing to host Kuwait

Kuwait dominated once again on day three of Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Division 8 after ripping through Bhutan's batting line-up and skittling the Asian side for just 31 runs.

Captain during toss

The four losing sides Suriname, Bahamas, Gibraltar and Bhutan are all relegated out of Pepsi ICC WCL Div. 8. Gibraltar will take on Bhutan while Bahamas will face Suriname on Thursday in a series of cross-over matches.


Bhutan edge past Suriname in high tensed match

Tshering Dorji of Bhutan and Shazam Ramjohn of Suriname at the toss

Bhutan bounced back from its huge defeat to Vanuatu yesterday by beating Suriname in a tightly fought game that saw the South American side fall just 11 runs short of target.


Bhutan suffer a blow in the opening

Bhutan players Celebrates Fall of Vanuatu wickets

Vanuatu inflicted an embarrassing 282-run defeat on Bhutan who crumbled for 55 in the face of Vanuatu's huge 337 for 9. Captain Andrew Mansale led the with 87 off 81 balls, adding 154 alongside Johnathan Dunn (75), but it was the closing stages of the innings that provided the real fireworks. Patrick Matautaava swung his way to 79 from 43 deliveries including seven fours and four sixes and he wasn't finished there as he then claimed 4 for 11 in Bhutan's reply. None of the batsmen could muster double figures in an innings that lasted 23.1 overs.


Bhutan fired up for WCL Div. 8


Bhutan captain Tshering Dorji is feeling confident alongside his coach Baba Sourjah ahead of the side's opening match against Vanuatu tomorrow in Kuwait for Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Division 8.

"We've been working hard ahead of the tournament, despite Bhutan not having turf wickets or great cricket practice facilities but we don't let matters like that keeps us down," said Sourjah.

"Bhutan only has one artificial wicket and we play on a concrete pitch at a local school, so it's great to be playing on turf wickets," said Dorji, "So playing here is great especially with outfields that are far smoother than Bhutan."


Squads announced for first-ever Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Division 8

The International Cricket Council (ICC) today announced the final squads for the eight-team Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Division 8 (WCL Div.8) tournament which will be played from 6 to 12 November in Kuwait.

Teams from Suriname, Vanuatu, Bhutan, Gibraltar, Germany, Zambia and the Bahamas will join host Kuwait for the first ever WCL Div. 8. The top two sides at WCL Div. 8 will win promotion to the WCL Div. 7 to be staged in Botswana in May 2011.

The matches will be hosted at four grounds in Kuwait, namely Hubara, Unity, KEC and Sulaibiya.

WCL Div. 8 features eight sides rather than the usual six for WCL and so the tournament is being played in a slightly different format with two groups of four. The points system will be as follows in the group stages: two points for a win, one point for a tie and zero for a loss.

The sixth day of the event will see play-offs between the groups after the final group standings have been completed on day four. The WCL Div. 8 final and position play-offs will then take place on 12 November.

The full schedule for WCL Div. 8 is as follows:


U-19 Women's Team Felicitated by Acting Prime Minister

Bhutan U-19 Women's Team with Acting Prime Minister Lyonpo Khandu Wangchuk and Education Minister Lyonpo Thakur Singh Powdel

Bhutan U-19 Women's Team were being felicitated by Acting Prime Minster Lyonpo Khandu Wangchuk and Education Minister Lyonpo Thakur Singh Powdel yesterday in Thimphu, the team were been welcomed in the Paro International Airport yesterday and on 13th by Labour Minster Lyonpo Dorji Wangdi and Education Minster Lyonpo Thakur Singh Powdel.

Each individual team members were awarded a cash incentive of Nu 10,000/- by the government yesterday in the felicitation ceremony.


Bhutan lost to Nepal in Final

Bhutan lost to Nepal in the final of the ACC U-19 Championship by 5 wickets played at IA cricket ground in Singapore on Today.

Nepal won the toss and elected to field in the match reduced to 20 overs due to rain. Bhutan manage to make 53 runs for the loss of 6 wickets in 20 overs, Yeshey Choden and Choening Tenzin could manage to cross double figure of 14 and 13 runs respectively. In reply Nepal made 54 for 5 in 17.2 overs.

"We are proud of the ways our girl perform during the U-19 Women Championship and this truly shows that we are not lacking at talent at even at minimal facilities, they have shown tremendous character to reach the final and give a experienced team like Nepal ad tough fight" said Jigme N Norbu CEO of Bhutan Cricket.


Bhutan Girls made it to final of ACC U-19 Women's Championship 2010

Bhutanese women's cricket defeated Hong Kong by 7 wickets today to reach the final of the ACC U-19 Women's Championship 2010, Bhutan will face Himalayan neighbor Nepal in the Final tomorrow.

Jubilant Bhutan's Girls after the Victory over Hong Kong


Dechen Wangmo With Women of the Match Award

Photo Courtesy of Asian Cricket Council

Brief Scorecard
Bhutan v Hong Kong at Ceylon Sports Club, Singapore
Hong Kong won the toss and chose to bat
Hong Kong: 99 for 7 off 25 overs (D.McCusker 44, Y.Choden 2-4)
Bhutan: 100 for 3 off 24.2 overs (D.Wangmo 39*; A. Ho 2-21)
Player of the Match: Dechen Wangmo (Bhutan)


Bhutan U-19 Women's to Play Hong Kong in the Semi Final

Bhutanese U-19 Women's National Team will play Hong Kong in the Semi Final of the ACC U-19 Women's Championship 2010 on Monday, Bhutan remain unbeaten in five match after they crushed China by 10 wickets today in Yorker ground in Singapore. The other semi final will be between defending champion Nepal and UAE.

Bhutanese U-19 National Team